University Committee on Written English Proficiency (U.C.W.E.P.)

View the 2015-2016 Annual Report from UCWEP

WHO is in U.C.W.E.P.?

University Committee on Written English Proficiency 2018-2019
Name Position Information Contact

Theresa Roeder, Chair

  • 2017-2020
  • BUS representative
  • Faculty member
  • 3 year term
  • Voting member
tmroeder@sfsu.edu

Anne Krause

  • 2016-2019
  • COSE representative
  • Faculty member
  • 3 year term
  • Voting member
krause@sfsu.edu

Donela Wright

  • 2018-2021
  • CoES representative
  • Faculty member
  • 3 year term
  • Voting member
dcwright@sfsu.edu

Laura Epstein

  • 2016-2019
  • GCOE representative
  • Faculty member
  • 3 year term
  • Voting member
lepstein@sfsu.edu

Yeon-Shim Lee

  • 2016-2019
  • HSS representative
  • Faculty member
  • 3 year term
  • Voting member
yl375@sfsu.edu

Christopher Koenig

  • 2017-2020
  • LCA representative
  • Faculty member
  • 3 year term
  • Voting member
cjkoenig@sfsu.edu

Kendra van Cleave

  • 2017-2020
  • LIB representative
  • Faculty member
  • 3 year term
  • Voting member
kendrav@sfsu.edu

 

   

Paul Morris

  • 2017-2020
  • English Department representative
  • Faculty member
  • 3 year term
  • Voting member
pmorris@sfsu.edu
Juliana van Olphen
  • Director of WAC/WID
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Voting member
jvo@sfsu.edu
Jennifer Trainor
  • Director of Composition, or designee
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Voting member
jtrainor@sfsu.edu
Priya Abeywickrama
  • Coordinator of Composition for Multilingual Students, or designee
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Voting member
abeywick@sfsu.edu

PENDING

  • 2017-2018
  • ASI appointment
  • Undergraduate student
  • 1 year term
  • Voting member
n/a

PENDING

  • 2017-2018
  • ASI appointment
  • Graduate student
  • 1 year term
  • Voting member
n/a
Deborah Vandommelen
  • Director of  Learning Assistance Center, or designee
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Voting member
dvan@sfsu.edu
Jane DeWitt
  • Dean of Undergraduate Education and Academic Planning or designee 
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Non-voting member
dewitt@sfsu.edu
Noah Price
  • Dean of Graduate Studies, or designee
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Non-voting member
nprice@sfsu.edu
PENDING
  • Chair of EPC, or designee
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Non-voting member
@sfsu.edu

Cecilia Herrmann

  • 2016-2019
  • Provost appointment
  • Academic Affairs staff member
  • 3 year term
  • Non-voting member
herrmann@sfsu.edu

WHAT does U.C.W.E.P. do?

The University Committee on Written English Proficiency helps oversee the "formal University program in written English proficiency."  Want to learn more?

Take a look at Senate Policy #S16-14, University Policy on Written English Proficiency

 


WHEN does U.C.W.E.P. meet?

TheUniversity Committee on Written English Proficiency meets every other Wednesday, from 10am-12am.  Please contact the Senate Office at senate@sfsu.edu for more information.

 


HOW can I get involved in U.C.W.E.P.?

As a SFSU community member, your contribution to the shared governance of our University is always appreciated.  If you are interested in serving on the University Committee on Written English Proficiency, please contact the Senate Office at senate@sfsu.edu.

 

Return to Committee Information