Distinguished Faculty Awards


Dear Colleagues,


Welcome to the Distinguished Faculty Awards web site.

In concert with San Francisco State University’s mission to provide students with a high-quality education, the Academic Senate recognizes outstanding faculty at SF State through its Distinguished Faculty Awards. The Faculty and Staff Awards Committee (FSAC), created by the Academic Senate and comprised of faculty and, as of 2019, staff from across Colleges and departments, promotes these awards, and selects their recipients for Excellence in Teaching, Professional Achievement, and Service.

The Senate honors these three areas because they are the means to achieving the University’s mission. Moreover, they support and strengthen one another. Research and creative work keep teaching current, and so, keep students at the forefront of knowledge; scholars and artists find their work honed through their students’ inquiries and explorations; and service allows the faculty to give back to the diverse communities of which the University is part, and creates opportunities for students to engage with the world beyond the academy.

Academic excellence is vital to helping students become strong thinkers, discoverers, creators, and contributors to society. Please consider nominating colleagues for SF State’s Distinguished Faculty Awards. Below are the nomination guidelines, and a list of past recipients by award and by year. For more information, please contact the Faculty and Staff Awards Committee: https://senate.sfsu.edu/content/distinguished-faculty-awards.


Kind Regards,


Teaster Baird, Jr.

Chair, Faculty and Staff Awards Committee, 2019-2020


Spring 2020


NOMINATION FORM AND GUIDELINES for the 2020 Distinguished Faculty Award 
Distinguished Faculty Award Recipients at the May 8, 2018 reception during the Final Plenary Academic Senate Meeting 

Back row, from left to right: David Anderson (Professional Achievement); Genie Stowers (Service); Tom Parker (Professional Achievement); Ramesh Bollapragada (Professional Achievement); Karen Hossfeld (Teaching); Jen Reck (Teaching); Grace Yoo (Service); Margaret Lynch (Teaching); Michelle Wolf (Teaching); Sophie Clavier (Teaching); John Elia (Teaching).


Front row, from left to right: James Martel (Service); Lucia Volk (Teaching); Jennifer Arin (Teaching; FHAC Chair); Trevor Getz (Service); Gust Yep (Professional Achievement).


Photo by Professor Emeritus of History Abdiel Oñate (FHAC Chair, 2007).


The faculty listed below have received Distinguished Faculty Awards for Excellence in Teaching, Excellence in Professional Achievement, or Excellence in Service. Their bios follow here, along with contact information where they may be reached for inquiries about presentations and/or consultations. 
List by award:
List by year:


If needed, current contact information can also be obtained from Faculty Affairs.




NOMINATION FORM AND GUIDELINES for the 2019 Distingished Faculty Award