First Year Experience Committee

WHO is in F.Y.E.C.?

First Year Experience Committee 2019-2020
NAME POSITION INFORMATION CONTACT

Grace Yoo, Co-Chair

  • Ex-Officio, or designee
  • Faculty
  • First-Year Experience Director 
  • Faculty member
  • Voting member
gracey@sfsu.edu

Chris Trudell, Co-Chair

  • Ex-Officio, or designee
  • Student Affairs
  • First-Year Experience Director
  • Student Affairs
  • Voting member
trudell@sfsu.edu

Chris Moffatt

  • Ex-Officio, or designee
  • GE Director
  • Voting member

moffatt@sfsu.edu

Arlene Daus-Magbual

  • Ex-Officio, or designee
  • DUEAP
  • Representative from Equity and Community Inclusion
  • Voting member
amianan@sfsu.edu

Mai Choua Xiong

  • Ex-Officio, or designee
  • Undergraduate Advising 
  • Director or designee, ex officio 
  • Undergraduate Advising Ceneter (UAC)
  • Voting member
mcxiong@sfsu.edu 

Andrew Brosnan

  • Ex-Officio, or designee
  • Director of Developmental Studies
  • Voting member
abrosnan@sfsu.edu

VACANT

  • Ex-Officio, or designee
  • 1st -Year Peer Mentor
  • Student Affairs and Enrollment Mgmt
  • Voting member
 

Wei Ming Dariotis

  • Ex-Officio, or designee
  • CEETL
  • Director of CEETL
  • Faculty member
  • Voting member
dariotis@sfsu.edu

VACANT

  • AS
  • 1st year student representative
  • 1 year term
  • Voting member
 

Vacant

  • Academic Affairs
  • 1st -Year Peer Mentor
  • Voting member
 

Rama Kased

  • Designee/Representative
  • Metro
  • Metro Academies representative
  • Voting member
ramak@sfsu.edu

Xochitl Sanchez

  • Designee/Representative
  • EOP
  • Equal Opportunity Program rep.
  • Voting member
xvsz@sfsu.edu

Vacant

  • Designee/Representative
  • Res Life
  • Residential Life Representative
  • Voting member
 

Liz Gandara 

  • Designee/Representative
  • Health & Wellness
  • Health Promotion & Wellness Rep.
  • Voting member
ehops@sfsu.edu

Faith Rusk

  • LIB
  • 2019-2022
  • Academic Senate appointment
  • Faculty member
  • Quantitative Reasoning
  • Voting member
  • 3 year term
frusk@sfsu.edu

Dan Curtis-Cummins 

  • Faculty
  • 2019-2022
  • Academic Senate appointment
  • Faculty member
  • Written English Communication
  • Voting member
  • 3 year term
dcc123@sfsu.edu
Amy Kilgard
  • Faculty
  • 2019-2022
  • Academic Senate appointment
  • Faculty member
  • Oral Communications
  • Voting member
  • 3 year term
akilgard@sfsu.edu
 Bob Bonner
  • Faculty
  • 2019-2022
  • Academic Senate appointment
  • Faculty member
  • Critical Thinking
  • Voting member
  • 3 year term
bonner@sfsu.edu
     

 

WHAT does F.Y.E.C. do?

The First Year Experience Committee is charged with "...mak[ing] recommendations to the Academic Senate for the first-year seminar and other first year experience that helps first year students...[and] evaluate implemented first year experience activities and report findings to the Academic Senate"  Want to know more?

Take a look at Senate Policy #F17-279First-Year Experience Committee

 


WHEN does F.Y.E.C. meet?

The First Year Experience Committee meets every XXXday, from X:XX-X:XX xm.  Please contact the Senate Office at senate@sfsu.edu for more information.

 


HOW can I get involved in F.Y.E.C.?

As a SFSU community member, your contribution to the shared governance of our university is always appreciated.  If you are interested in serving on the First Year Experience Committee, please contact the Senate Office at senate@sfsu.edu.

 

Return to Committee Information