University Committee on Written English Proficiency (U.C.W.E.P.)

View the 2015-2016 Annual Report from UCWEP

WHO is in U.C.W.E.P.?

University Committee on Written English Proficiency 2021-2022
Name Position Information Contact

Theresa Roeder (Chair)

  • 2020-2023
  • LFCOB
  • LFCOB representative
  • Faculty member
  • 3 year term
  • Voting member
tmroeder@sfsu.edu

Courtney Donovan 

  • 2020-2023
  • COSE
  • COSE representative
  • Faculty member
  • 3 year term
  • Voting member
cdonovan@sfsu.edu

Vacant

  • 2021-2022
  • CoES representative
  • Faculty member
  • 3 year term
  • Voting member
 

Anusha Sundarrajan

  • 2019-2022
  • GCOE
  • GCOE representative
  • Faculty member
  • 3 year term
  • Voting member
anusha@sfsu.edu

Chris Bettinger 

  • 2019-2022
  • HSS
  • HSS representative
  • Faculty member
  • 3 year term
  • Voting member
cpb@sfsu.edu

Vacant

  • LCA representative
  • Faculty member
  • 3 year term
  • Voting member
 

Faith Rusk

  • 2020-2023
  • LIB representative
  • Faculty member
  • 3 year term
  • Voting member
frusk@sfsu.edu

 

   

Robert Kohls

  • 2021-2022
  • LCA
  • English Department representative
  • Faculty member
  • 3 year term
  • Voting member
 
Juliana van Olphen 
  • Director of WAC/WID
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Voting member
jvo@sfsu.edu
Jolie Goorjian
  • Associate Director of WAC/WID
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Voting member
jolie@sfsu.edu
Priya Abeywickrama
  • Coordinator of Composition for Multilingual Students, or designee
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Voting member
taralock@sfsu.edu

PENDING

  • 2021-2022
  • ASI appointment
  • Undergraduate student
  • 1 year term
  • Voting member
n/a
Tara Lockhart
  • Director of Composition or designee
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Voting member
taralock@sfsu.edu

PENDING

  • 2017-2018
  • ASI appointment
  • Graduate student
  • 1 year term
  • Voting member
n/a
Karen Wiederholt 
  • Tutoring and Academic Support Center, TASC, or designee
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Voting member
kwied@sfsu.edu
Vacant
  • Director of Campus Academic Resource Center, or designee
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Voting member
 
Wei Ming Dariotis
  • Faculty Director of the Center for Equity and Excellence in Teaching and Learning
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Voting member
dariotis@sfsu.edu
Jane DeWitt
  • Dean of Undergraduate Education and Academic Planning or designee 
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Non-voting member
dewitt@sfsu.edu
Joy Viveros
  • Dean of Graduate Studies, or designee
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Non-voting member
viveros@sfsu.edu

  • 2021-2022
  • Chair of EPC, or designee
  • Ex-Officio member
  • Non-voting member
 

Maggie Beers

  • 2021-2022
  • Provost appointment
  • Academic Affairs staff member
  • Non-voting member
mbeers@sfsu.edu

WHAT does U.C.W.E.P. do?

The University Committee on Written English Proficiency helps oversee the "formal University program in written English proficiency."  Want to learn more?

Take a look at Senate Policy #S16-14, University Policy on Written English Proficiency

 


WHEN does U.C.W.E.P. meet?

TheUniversity Committee on Written English Proficiency meets every other Wednesday, from 10am-12am.  Please contact the Senate Office at senate@sfsu.edu for more information.

 


HOW can I get involved in U.C.W.E.P.?

As a SFSU community member, your contribution to the shared governance of our University is always appreciated.  If you are interested in serving on the University Committee on Written English Proficiency, please contact the Senate Office at senate@sfsu.edu.

 

Return to Committee Information