Commending and Thanking Senators for Completing Terms of Service for 2010-2011

Resolution Number: RS11-290
January, 2011






























WHEREAS,   the Academic Senate of the California State University adopted a statement on Collegiality in the California State University that included these opening paragraphs:




The smooth and effective operation of a complex multipurpose university system requires a spirit of collegiality that both reflects and fosters mutual respect among all groups within the system. Collegiality consists of a shared decision-making process and a set of attitudes which cause individuals to regard the members of the


various constituencies of the university as responsible for the success of the academic enterprise.





Fundamental to this concept is the understanding that a university is a community of scholars who, out of mutual respect for the expertise and contributions of their colleagues, agree that shared decision-making in areas of recognized primary responsibility constitutes the means whereby a university best preserves its academic


                        integrity and most effectively attains its educational mission; and





WHEREAS,   the success of shared decision-making at San Francisco State University is dependent upon the willingness of members of the campus community to serve on the many agencies of academic governance; and





 WHEREAS,   the Academic Senate is the central agency for academic governance; and





WHEREAS,   willingness to serve on the Academic Senate is, therefore, of fundamental importance to the success of the academic enterprise; now therefore be it





RESOLVED,             that the Academic Senate of San Francisco State University thank and commend the following members of the University community who are completing their current terms of service.




                        • Tod Arnoldy, College of Business


                        • Nathan Avani, At-Large


                        • Patricia Bartscher, University Counsel*


                        • Arlene Bugayong, Educational Opportunity Program


                        • Adam Burke, College of Health & Human Services


                        • Yu Charn Chen, College of Creative Arts


                        • Yitwah Cheung, College of Science & Engineering


                        • Don Danner, College of Business













• Sylvia Flatt, College of Business


                        • Joseph Gubeladze, College of Science & Engineering


                        • Barbara Holzman, College of Behavioral & Social Sciences*


                        • Mahmood Hussain, College of Business


                        • Russell Jeung, Asian American Studies


                        • Leigh Jin, College of Business


                        • Eileen Levy, At-Large


                        • Chris Wen Chao Li, College of Humanities


                        • Thania Lopez, Associated Students, Inc.


                        • Laura Moody, Library**


                        • Leroy Morishita, Administration & Finance**


                        • Nikolai Morris, Associated Students, Inc.


                        • Flora Nguyen, Associated Students, Inc.


                        • Erik Rosegard, College of Health & Human Services


                        • Cristina Ruotolo, College of Humanities*


                        • Dipendra Sinha, College of Science & Engineering


                        • Don Taylor, College of Health & Human Services*


                        • Shawn Whalen, College of Humanities




                         And be it further


RESOLVED, that the Senate salute the leadership of Eileen Levy as Chair of the Faculty Affairs


                        Committee from 2008-2011, and thank her for her service; and be it further





RESOLVED,  that the Academic Senate wholeheartedly salute the outstanding leadership of Shawn


Whalen as a strong member of the Academic Program Review Committee during 2005-2006; a visionary Chair of the Academic Policies Committee during 2006-2007; an engaged and resourceful Vice Chair of the Academic Senate during 2007-2008; and an exemplary Chair of the Academic Senate from 2008-2011, unflappable and dedicated, not only managing each of the 40 Senate meetings and the 99 Executive Committee meetings with wit, professionalism and poise, but embracing each challenge that confronted him with integrity and with respect to all involved. We thank him for his service.














*Returning for a subsequent term in 2011-2012


**Retiring or separating from the University





***Approved by the Academic Senate at its meeting on May 10, 2011***