Academic Senate Meeting Minutes 9/17/2013







Tuesday, September 17, 2013



2:00 – 5:00 p.m.


OPEN FLOOR PERIOD:  2:00 - 2:10 p.m.

The Open Floor Period provides an informal opportunity for Senators or other community members to raise questions or make comments directed to Senate officers or to university administrators.  Please arrive promptly at 2:00 p.m.

CALL TO ORDER: 2:10 p.m.


AGENDA ITEM #1—Approval of the Minutes for September 3, 2013


AGENDA ITEM #2—Approval of the Agenda for September 17, 2013


AGENDA ITEM #3—Chair’s Report


AGENDA ITEM #4—Report: Standing Committee Chairs & CSU Senators—Brief Updates


AGENDA ITEM #5—Discussion Item: Strategic Planning—Theme 1, Building the San Francisco State Identity (excerpt below for SPCC Web page):


“This theme will examine the essence of San Francisco State University and how that essence is reflected in our students, staff, faculty, and community.  Key questions in this area include:

·      What values are central to SF State?

·      What binds SF State alumni to the institution?

·      Where can we improve the student experience?

·      Could athletics or other programming be enhanced in a way that would help facilitate ties to the university for our students, staff, faculty, alumni, and community?

·      What opportunities exist to better convey SF State’s identity to internal and external audiences?”


AGENDA ITEM #6—Academic Senate Elections:  The following are positions currently open on University committees of which the Academic Senate must elect representatives (the Senate elects the representatives, however candidates are not required to be Senators in all cases):

  1. Board of Appeals and Review (BoAR):  2 Faculty Representatives to serve a two-year term (2013-2015)
  2. All-University on Teacher Education Committee (AUTEC)—1 Faculty Representative to serve a one-year term (2013-2014)

    1. Antwi Akom, Associate Professor, Africana Studies
    2. Robert Pope, Assistant Professor, Nursing
  3. Center for Teaching & Faculty Development (CTFD)—1 Faculty member to serve a three-year term (2013-2016)

    1. Therese Doan, Assistant Professor, Nursing
  4. Enrollment Management Committee—2 Faculty Representatives needed:  1 must be a Department Chair for a one-year term (2013-2014); 1 faculty member to serve a three-year term (2013-2016)

    1. Department Chair, one-year term VACANT
    2. Jeff Cookston, Associate Professor, Psychology
    3. Darlene Yee, Professor, Gerontology
  5. Baccalaureate Requirements Committee—1 Academic Senator to serve a one-year term (2013-2014)—Christopher Carrington, Sociology
  6. University Budget Committee—2 Faculty to serve a three-year term (2013-2016)

    1. Antwi Akom, Associate Professor, Africana Studies
    2. Nathan Avani, Professor/Chair, Secondary Education
    3. Genie Stowers, Professor, Public Administration


AGENDA ITEM #7—Adjournment—no later than 5:00p.m.

Meeting Date (Archive)