September 7, 2021



Tuesday, September 7, 2021


2:00 – 4:30 p.m.



Abeywickrama, Priya (LCA)

Harris-Boundy, Jason (LFCOB)

Seelye, Melissa (LIB)

Alaoui, Fatima (LCA)

Harvey, Richard (HSS)

Segovia-McGahan, Gabriela (COES)(STF)

Albiniak, Teddy (LCA)

Hellman, David (LIB)

Shapiro, Jerry (HSS)

Allen, Jace (LCA)(STF)

Hennessy, Logan (LCA)

Small, Rachel (COSE)

Ara, Mitra (LCA)

Howell, Ryan (COSE)

Stein, Marc (LCA)

Banks, Dwayne (PRES)

Hwu, Alex (CEL)

Steward, Paul (GCOE)

Beatty, Brian (GCOE)

Kavuri-Bauer, Santhi (LCA)

Stillman, Jonathon (COSE)

Bloom-Leiva, Gilda (GCOE)

Kingston, Christopher (LFCOB)(STF)

Stowers, Genie (HSS)

Borjian, Ali (GCOE)

Le, Mai-Nhung (COES)

Summit, Jennifer (Provost)

Clemens, Christopher (LCA)

Lee, Yeon-Shim (HSS)

(Sveinsdottir), Ásta (LCA)

Collins, Robert Keith (COES)(ASCSU)

Lynch, Katie (SAEM)

Thomas, Tom (LFCOB)

Contreras, Raul (COSE)(STF)            

Mahoney, Lynn (President)

Trousdale, Alaric (SAEM)

Critchlow, Edwin (A&F)

Musselman, Elaine (HSS)

Valencia, Jennifer (ASI)

D’Alois, Roberta (LFCOB)

Narkewicz, Victoria (GCOE)(STF)

Ward, Samantha (HSS)(STF)

Daus-Magbual, Arlene (SAEM)

Nielsen, Karina (COSE)

Way, Lori Beth (PRES)

Desa, Geoff (LFCOB)

Ochoa, Joshua (ASI)

Wilson, Jackson (HSS)

Diamond, Morty (HSS)

Piyatinska, Alexandra (COSE)

Wong, Yutian (LCA)

Drennan, Marie (LCA)

Platas, Linda (HSS)

Woo, Jeannie (COES)

Gerber, Nancy (COSE)(ASCSU)

Ramirez, Gilberto (A&F)(STF)

Yee-Melichar, Darlene (HSS)(ASCSU)

Goldman, Michael (COSE)

Rubin, Jasper (HSS)

Zhou, Yi (LFCOB)

Guidara, Andrea (LIB)(STF)

Scott, Michael (PRES)



Dollinger, Mark (LCA)

Kordesch, Nick (UE)

Sinha, Dipendra (COSE)

Hines, Ellen (COSE)(on leave)

Linton, Anne (LCA)(on leave)

Villanueva, Karen (CEL)(STF)

Jiang, Hao (COSE)

Olsher, David (LCA)(on leave)


Kleinrichert, Denise (LFCOB)(on leave)

Philot, Dae (ASI)



Bartholomew, Claude (DUEAP)

Jackson, Marilyn (OIP)

Violante, Liesl (A&F)

Beers, Maggie (CEETL)

Kim, Catherine (HR)

Ward, Jay (OIP)

Clavier, Sophie (GRAD)

Mandolfo, Carleen

Williams, Ingrid (HR)

Dariotis, Wei-Ming (COES)

Montoya, Michelle (DUEAP)

Wilson, Jeff (A&F)

DeWitt, Jane (DUEAP)

Pierce, ?

Vasquez, Mirna (Senate)

Ganner, Nancy (HR)




OPEN FLOOR PERIOD:  2:00 - 2:05 p.m.

The Open Floor Period provides an informal opportunity for campus community members to raise questions or make comments directed to Senate officers or to university administrators.  Please arrive promptly at 2:00 p.m.

·       Sen. Yee-Melichar: extended thanks to the leadership for the convocation and congratulations to faculty and staff awardees

·       Sen. Stowers: reminder about state governor recall election


Call to Order: 2:05 p.m.

1.    Approval of the Agenda for September 7, 2021

·       Approved as submitted @ 2:05pm

2.    Approval of the Minutes for May 11, 2021

·       Approved as submitted @ 2:06pm

3.    Announcements from the Floor

·       none

4.    Reports

4.1. Chair Report

·       Chair Albiniak welcomed and thanked all senators for their service and a discussion of the work in the year ahead.

4.2. President Report

·       President Mahoney expressed gratitude for the campus efforts over the past year and particularly on the safety efforts to have a hybrid campus opening.

·       While navigating COVID-19, we will have an eye on the future including through the Strategic Enrollment plan, Academic Master Plan, and self-study for WASC review. Now is the time to develop our Strategic Plan. Strategic Plan will include learning modes, equity, fiscal responsibility.

4.3. Provost Report

·       Provost Summit expressed excitement for the senate work and year ahead. 

·       Provost Summit discussed some of the return to campus safety protocols and plans.

·       Discussion of spring schedule, a student survey has been sent out and will provide guidelines to colleges, depts., and programs

·       Faculty will receive a survey about the AMP framework and allow for setting priorities and goals.

·       HEERF-supported programs to support faculty will address setbacks due to pandemic.

·       Ensure hiring practices align with goals for hiring diverse professoriate.

o   Sen. Segovia-McGahan: will we be extending remote meeting flexibility for our students and guests with disabilities?

§  Provost Summit: yes, we should learn from the past year and continue to conduct effective online meetings

o   Sen. Goldman:  is there a target for how many F2F courses to offer in spring ’22?

§  Provost Summit: expect to be offering more than the current fall semester, but will depend on results of student survey, etc.

o   Sen. Stillman: will it be possible for students to take only online courses or faculty to teach only online courses in the future?

§  Provost Summit: must work within the WASC guidelines and will be shaped by student needs

o   Sen. Stowers: in developing online programs, need unique support services, marketing, and course development

4.4. Standing Committees

4.4.1.   Academic Policies committee

·       Sen. Stowers: Sen. Yutian Wong was elected vice chair of APC. Have a long list of policies to work on including grad curriculum, credit hour, community service learning, calendar, etc.

4.4.2.   Curriculum Review committee

·       Sen. Drennan: reviewing curriculum and course standard policy, and will be looking at a BA with concentration in philosophy and law as well as the process for converting degree programs to online options.

4.4.3.   Faculty Affairs committee

·       Sen. Rubin: prioritizing sabbatical review process, how FAC will address recommendations from the faculty work assignment task force, consider extending RTP flexibility due to continued pandemic difficulties, hope to have time to work on emeritus policy

4.4.4.   Student Affairs committee

·       Sen. Ramirez: currently working on reading initiative resolution and student success initiative resolution

4.4.5.   Strategic Issues committee

·       Sen. Goldman: will be following up on RSO, Centers, and Institutes policy, encourage wide discussion to ensure feedback on AMP framework, want to look into branding, marketing, student services, etc.

Consent Agenda

5.    Recommendation from the Executive Committee: Resolution Honoring and Thanking Dr. Yenbo Wu—consent agenda

·       Chair Albiniak introduced the item and asked if there was a call for discussion or debate. 

o   No discussion

·       Marilyn Jackson, Interim Director of the Office of International Programs, shared some biographical information and accomplishments of Dr. Yenbo Wu.

·       Vice Chair Wilson read the item into the record.

Agenda Items

6.    Election of At-Large Member to the Executive Committee

·       Sen. Stowers described the process for the elections.

·       Sen. Beatty was elected as the at-large member of Executive Committee


7.    Presentation from Maggie Beers, Assistant Vice President for Teaching and Learning, “Transformative Teaching through Transitions” (time certain 2:45-3:00pm)

·       Maggie Beers presented an overview of CEETL’s guiding principles, offerings, and faculty support services.

·       Faculty Development programs (Pedagogies for Inclusive Excellence (PIE)) certificates:

o   Quality Online Learning & Teaching

o   Transformative Teaching Through Transitions

o   Reading & Writing Across the Curriculum (launching in 2022)

8.    Presentation Mia Reisweber, Interim Assistant Dean of Students, “Supporting Gators in Fall 2021” (time certain 3:00-3:15pm)

·       Mia Reisweber presented work done by the Division of Student Life over summer on supporting students returning to campus for fall. Focus on social and emotional development.

9.    Adjourment

·       Adjourned at 3:03 PM


The Post-Plenary Floor Period provides an informal opportunity for senators and guests to meet, exchange information, or follow up on items or questions 


Meeting Date (Archive)